Posted by: TheAuthor | 08/07/2011

Pollution

The human race is a terrible burden on this planet. Sure, there are people who like to ‘do their bit’ and help the recycling effort. However far too many people are prepared to stand by and let other people do the dirty work.

Currently I work as a general cleaner, of sorts, in Banff, Canada. At the attraction I work at, part of my job is to ensure the cleanliness of the car park and building areas, namely litter picking. In the summer this is glorious, spending time outside in the warm air and blazing sun. However, upon reflection I have noticed a sad trend.

Far too many people decide to throw their litter onto the floor; into a bush; ditch; next to a bin; rather than walk ten paces or fewer to place the rubbish safely out of harms (and wildlifes) way. Disheartening as it is, to watch people see you picking up litter and still opt for the floor behind you, I know that morally I am doing the right thing.

I may only work for a small attraction, but the amount of daily wastage, recycling and general rubbish is astonishing. Two full skips a day of rubbish bags, the same again in both bottles and cardboard. It really strikes home how much harm we are doing to our planet, especially if people visit a national park and prefer to litter rather than place the item away in a bin. How attractions like Disney world and sports stadiums cope with even higher quantities of rubbish is incredible, I just hope the people there care as much as I do about recycling.

Remember, wherever you go, use a rubbish bin/garbage can/trash can.

Responses

  1. Hey, I just wanted to say what a excellent website. I certainly enjoyed it and found it interesting reading. Anticipating your next post!

  2. Hey, I just wanted to say what a excellent website. I certainly enjoyed it and found it interesting reading. Anticipating your next post!

    • Thanks, glad you enjoy reading!


Leave a Reply

Categories

