Posted by: TheAuthor | 26/05/2011

Football in the Rockies

Throughout the bitterly cold winter in the Canadian Rockies, amidst the small tourist town of Banff, there is little to keep you occupied in the short wintry evenings. That is until, through word of mouth, I learned of a small group of football enthusiasts playing indoors every Monday night. ‘Amazing’ I thought to myself, I can play football (not soccer) again. I bought myself a new Chelsea FC shirt and a pair of trainers and headed over.

The idea was simple, four teams of roughly six or seven people and a five-minute game – or first to score wins. If it is a draw after the five minutes, both teams leave the court. This leads to a frantic fast paced game where everyone is out to score. On a personal note, after a couple of months of very little cardio exercise, I found myself to be out of breath very quickly. A couple of months later (today) I am far fitter than before, thankfully.

A multi national affair, fielded mainly by Japanese and English players with a number of Kiwis and Canadians thrown in for good measure. Traces of flair, talent and determination are evident everywhere and the quality of the games increased as players got into their stride.

The football in Banff is far greater in the summer compared to the winter, competitions around western Canada occur each month, whilst a mini league of roughly 6 teams compete in local rivalries. Each team has a different recruiting tactic, however turning up on a Monday night and impressing is a sure-fire way of being picked to play. Now, as spring has sprung, the play has turned outside and competitive games on a Sunday.

Read the press for match results every Tuesday. Unless you are in town, then drop on by to watch Boston Pizza play an entertaining game of football with yours truly.

Responses

  1. I¡¦ve recently started a blog, the information you offer on this web site has helped me greatly. Thanks for all of your time & work.

    • Thank you for reading! Where do you blog?

  2. Nice read, I just passed this onto a colleague who was doing some research on that. And he just bought me lunch as I found it for him smile So let me rephrase that: Thanks for lunch!

    • Glad you enjoyed it, if you need any further information I will be happy to help!


Leave a Reply

Categories

